Some of the research services that the Law Library provides to Faculty members include:
For further information, please contact your Librarian Liaison or Sylvia Yanes (firstname.lastname@example.org or (804) 289-8727).
Joyce Manna Janto, Director of Public & Instructional Services
Alex Clay Hutchings, Research & Student Services Librarian
Sylvia Yanes, Research & Faculty Services Librarian
Full-time faculty members are assigned to a Librarian Liaison, who serves as their point of contact with the Library. Your Librarian Liaison has been assigned to you based on a combination of expertise and availability; please be aware that your Librarian Liaison may change as library staff changes. Your Librarian Liaison is typically the person who will perform research projects for you, though other librarians will sometimes pitch in to help with a project due to workload or experience factors.
If you can't remember who your Librarian Liaison is, feel free to contact Sylvia Yanes at email@example.com or (804) 289-8727.
The Law Library maintains a pool of Research Assistants who can assist you with your research needs. Whether you have your own RA or not, our pool of Library RAs can help you with your legal and interdisciplinary research needs. We do ask that you route all requests through the supervising librarian and please be aware that we do not have the capacity to write research memos.
For Library Research Assistant help, please contact Sylvia Yanes at firstname.lastname@example.org or at 289-8727; you can also fill out the form here.
Need an expert to provide legal research instruction to your students? Request a guest lecture by one of our law librarians for your doctrinal, seminar, practicum, or clinical classes. We can provide guest lectures as well as follow-up research consultations with your students on an individual basis.
Contact Sylvia Yanes at email@example.com or 289-8727 or contact your Librarian Liaison to make arrangements.
Students who are writing research papers can benefit from one-on-one research consultations with law librarians before their bibliographies or outlines are due. The law librarians can help the students explore searches beyond Westlaw and Lexis and use search strategies and resources they may not have considered, resulting in deeper, richer research and better work product. Professors may choose whether to recommend or require these consultations; the librarians are happy to consult with the professors ahead of time as to goals and parameters of the research.
For questions, please contact your Librarian Liaison or Sylvia Yanes at firstname.lastname@example.org or 289-8727.
The Law Library provides annual training for faculty research assistants on:
In addition, the Reference Librarians can provide quality checks of your research assistants' work.
Please contact Sylvia Yanes at email@example.com or 289-8727 for more information
Have questions about a new legal research database? Want to try out a database that you've heard about from a colleague at another institution? Need some refresher training on an existing database or just want to learn about some new features? Want your administrative assistant to learn the ins and outs of HeinOnline? The Law Library can help! We provide database evaluation, maintenance, and training to faculty and staff, and we arrange database trials for new databases that we are considering adding to our collection.
For questions about Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg, including passwords, training, and new features, contact Joyce Manna Janto at firstname.lastname@example.org or 289-8223.
For questions about all other databases, and to arrange trials of databases, contact Samantha Cabo at email@example.com or 289-8217.
And, of course, you can always contact your Librarian Liaison to make an appointment for database training.