Bloomberg Law is a legal research system, accessible by a login ID, that may be particularly relevant for patents and intellectual property, corporate and securities research, bankruptcy law, and retrieving court documents and filings from federal, state, and foreign jurisdictions. Bloomberg Law includes federal and state cases, similar to those in Westlaw and LexisNexis, along with news and current awareness and unique Law Reports for analysis and current awareness across 40 legal subjects.
Provides access to a comprehensive online law library with complete federal case coverage, plus state and appellate cases going back to 1950 (or earlier) for all fifty states. Also includes federal and state statutes, court rules, and administrative codes. Like Lexis and Westlaw, you can use Fastcase to retrieve cases by citation or by using Boolean or natural language searching. There is also an “Authority Check” feature, which shows if your case has been cited in later case decisions. See a Law School librarian for U.R.'s access code.
Electronic collection of many prominent legal journals and law reviews, including older, difficult to find, historical collections, and current issues, available in PDF format. Includes the Foreign & International Law Resources database, the historic Federal Register, Treaties & Agreements Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Papers Library, Law Library Journal, and more.
This database provides online and downloadable access to 185 study aids from Wolters Kluwer, including Examples and Explanations and Casenotes. Students can highlight, share, and take exportable notes as they use these resources to prepare for classes, papers, and exams.
Comprehensive catalog of libraries from around the world. Catalog entries include information on books, films and slides, manuscripts, musical scores, digital media, and other formats. Useful for users who are searching for materials owned by other libraries.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This collection consists of 20 individual collections, with a total page count of nearly one and a half million pages. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990. Four collections are sourced from the Lesbian Herstory Archives, the largest lesbian-focused archives in the world; two are sourced from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society. Others are sourced from the New York Public Library; the London School of Economics; and from the National Institutes of Health.
The ACLU Papers contains internal documents such as memoranda and committee reports; correspondence from clients, members of the board of directors, government bureaucrats, attorneys, and other sources; materials relating to local organizations affiliated with the ACLU, as well as records of hundreds of organizations with which the ACLU had supportive or adversarial relations; and legal briefs and newspaper clippings. Some of the key events covered include the first and second “Red Scare,” the rise of the Ku Klux Klan, and the ACLU’s involvement around important events including the Vietnam War and the Civil Rights movement. Events related to free speech, censorship and gay rights are also covered.
The NAACP Papers: Major Legal Campaigns includes materials on the NAACP’s efforts regarding anti-lynching, peonage, and discrimination in employment and the criminal justice system as well as the NAACP’s efforts regarding anti-lynching, peonage, and discrimination in employment and the criminal justice system.
This collection documents the evolution of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at local, national, and federal levels. Content also explores urbanization and industrialization and their impact on public health, the rise of public advocacy, the transformation of domestic life, the role of government in the care of its population, and more.
HeinOnline's World Treaty Library allows you to search across all the major world treaties in one database, from 1648 to the present. Works included are from Rohn, Dumont, Wiktor, and Martens. Users can search for treaties by using such fields as keyword, country, treaty number, treaty type, party and subject. Users can search for treaties by using such fields as keyword, country, treaty number, treaty type, party, and subject.