Sexual Orientation and the Law

A national project fighting discrimination in five issue areas: Relationships, Youth & Schools, Parenting, Gender Expression and Identity, and Discrimination. Includes news, case information, legal documents, and multimedia.

Based in New England; fights discrimination based on sexual orientation, HIV status, and gender identity and expression. Includes information on LGBT rights by state and by topic, publications, news and the GLAD docket, and a Legal InfoLine.

A national organization working for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender civil rights. See the "issues" tab for information and publications on a variety of topics.

A national organization working for the the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgendered people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education, and public policy work. Each of the four regional offices plus the headquarters has a Help Desk. The web site includes state-by-state information on a variety of issues.

A national legal organization committed to advancing the civil and human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and their families through litigation, public policy advocacy, and public education. Has a Legal Information Helpline. The website includes the NCLR docket, and information and publications on different issues.

A Washington, D.C.-based organization working for equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration and empowerment. See the "resources" section for Fact Sheets and publications.

An advocacy organization working to build the political power of the LGBT community and advance LGBT rights. Website includes information on various issues, reports and research, and "issue maps" on topics such as relationship recognition, hate crimes laws, nondiscrimiantion laws, and foster care and adoption laws.

A New York organization fighting discrimination against transgender, transsexual, intersex and other gender non-conforming people, with a focus on low-income people and communities of color. Conducts precedent-setting lawsuits, policy work, community organizing support, and provides free legal services. Website includes news and publications, in English and Spanish.

A California-based civil rights organization advocating for transgender communities through direct legal services, public policy advocacy, and educational opportunities. Website provides a large collection of resources on transgender law, including "California Transgender Law 101: A Resource Guide for California Lawyers and Advocates."

The Williams Institute is dedicated to conducting rigorous, independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. A national think tank at UCLA Law, the Williams Institute produces high-quality research with real-world relevance and disseminates it to judges, legislators, policymakers, media and the public.

Legal analysis from Nan Hunter, Williams Institute Legal Scholarship Director and law professor at Georgetown University Law Center.

Written by Nancy Polikoff, law professor at American University Washington College of Law (and author of "Beyond Straight and Gay Marriage.") *Currently McDonald/Wright Visiting Chair of Law at the Williams Institute.

A project of the Center for Gender & Sexuality Law at Columbia Law School; Directed by law professor Katherine Franke, also Director of the Center for Gender & Sexuality Law.

The Williams Institute Reading Room and Collection is a program of the Charles R. Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation Law. The Williams Institute is a national think tank dedicated to the field of sexual orientation law and public policy. It advances law and public policy through rigorous, independent research and scholarship.

Created by the Standing Committee on Lesbian and Gay Issues of the American Association of Law Libraries' Social Responsibilities Special Interest Section. Includes both books and law review articles, and is updated. The 2006 edition is available in print at KF4754.5.A1 S49 2006. A new edition is forthcoming in 2017.