Specific Topics
With the ease of researching online, it's sometimes easy to forget that the library has an excellent print collection of reference books. The books below are only a small fraction of what is available in our medical-legal collection, so be sure to check the catalog once you've narrowed your topic.
Don't forget that our catalog contains more than just books; you'll find links to numerous government documents and committee reports, loose-leaf reference books, microfilm, and online databases.
- Health Care Reform Law and Practice
This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ Only: This title covers a wide variety of Health Care topics and was written and updated by both academics and practitioners.
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act
- Read the Law - The Department of Health and Human ServicesRead the full text of all 10 titles on the website. Also includes a link to the Office of the Legislative Council compiled portions of the Health Care and Reconciliation Act of 2010 that make up the PPACA.
A Different Perspective on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act by Call Number: KF3605.A328201 .O54 2014ISBN: 076186184XPublication Date: 2013-11-21
Medicaid & Medicare
- Medicare and Medicaid Guide byCall Number: eBook
The Law of Later-Life Health Care and Decision Making by Call Number: KF3608.A4 F76 2006ISBN: 1590317599
Guide to Medicare Coverage Decision-Making and Appeals by Call Number: KF3608.A4 G85 2002ISBN: 1590310969
AKS and Stark
Health Care Fraud and Abuse: A Physician's Guide to Compliance by Call Number: KF3605 .T67 2003ISBN: 1579473539
Textbooks and Casebooks
ERISA
Misrepresentation in the Life, Health, and Disability Insurance Application Process by Call Number: KF9368 .M57 2009ISBN: 9781604425130Publication Date: 2010-02-16
Covid-19
- Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) poses challenges for the U.S. blood supplyCongressional Research Service report. 2020.
Regulation of the Medical Profession
- AMA Code of Medical EthicsOrganized in 10 sections, the code gives opinions of the AMA on specific areas of concern for the medical profession.
In the Public Interest: medical licensing and the disciplinary process by Call Number: K4366 .H67 2013ISBN: 0813554268
HIPAA
- Legislative History of HIPAAProQuest Legislative Insight legislative history includes 215 documents associated with this legislation.
Emergency Medical Treatment & Labor Act (EMTALA)
- CMS.gov Regulation & Guidance - EMTALAIncludes agency interpretations of EMTALA and the State Operations Manual appendix on the subject.
- EMTALA: Implementation and Enforcement IssuesPDF of document prepared by the Government Accounting Office.
Virginia- Specific Resources
Critical Issues in Health Law for Virginia Practicioners by Call Number: KFV2760.Z9 C75 1989
