Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law

https://opil.ouplaw.com/home/OSAIL

• Provides full text access to leading works such as Oppenheim's International Law, Simma's Commentary on the UN Charter, and Crawford's Creation of States in International Law
• Includes all titles in the Oxford Commentaries on International Law series, and the Oxford International Law Library series
• Content can be browsed by author, title, subject, and by the cases and instruments cited by books included in the site
• Full text search allows users to discover new relevant content even in works they have consulted many times before
• Access the Oxford Law Citator for links to cases, articles, and additional materials related to each article

 Title List by Subject Area

Click on the hyperlinked title for direct accsss.

Search and Browse the catalog at this URL: 

http://olrl.ouplaw.com/search?sfam=true​

General Treatments of International Law

Jennings & Watts: Oppenheim's International Law – Peace 9th ed.
Crawford: Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law 8th ed. (ASIL Prize Winner)
Clapham: Brierly's Law Of Nations 7th ed.
Higgins: Problems and Process (ASIL Prize Winner)
Lauterpacht: The Function of Law in the International Community
Lowe: International Law
Chen: An Introduction to Contemporary International Law 3/e

Law of Treaties

Corten & Klein: The Vienna Conventions on the Law of Treaties: A Commentary
Hollis: The Oxford Guide to Treaties (ASIL Prize Winner)
McNair: Law of Treaties
Gardiner: Treaty Interpretation 2nd ed*
Nolte: Treaties and Subsequent Practice
Cannizaro: The Law of Treaties Beyond the Vienna Convention
Chinkin: Third Parties in International Law

Diplomatic Law

Denza: Diplomatic Law (Commentary)
Roberts: Satow's Diplomatic Practice
Lee and Quigley: Consular Law and Practice 3/e

Immunities

O'Keefe & Tams: The United Nations Convention on Jurisdictional Immunities of States and Their Property: A Commentary 
Fox & Webb: The Law of State Immunity 3rd ed revised paperback edition*
Foakes: The Position of Heads of State and Senior Officials in International Law

Law of Responsibility

Crawford & Pellet: The Law of International Responsibility

Statehood and Recognition

Crawford: Creation of States in International Law 2nd ed. (ASIL Prize Winner)
Talmon: Recognition of Governments in International Law

Human Rights Law

Schabas: The European Convention on Human Rights: A Commentary*
Shelton: Remedies in International Human Rights Law 3rd e* 
Zimmermann: The 1951 Convention Relating To the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol: A Commentary
Freeman: The UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women: A Commentary 
Joseph et al: International Covenant on Civil Political Rights 3rd ed.
Nowak: The United Nations Convention against Torture: A Commentary
Shelton: The Oxford Handbook of International Human Rights Law
Doswald-Beck: Human Rights in Times of Conflict and Terrorism
Lauterpacht: An International Bill of Rights of Man
Tomuschat: Human Rights – between Idealism and Realism 3rd ed.
Burgorgue-Larsen and Ubeda de Torres: The Inter-American Court of Human Rights Case Law and Commentary
Saul, Kinley, and Mowbray: The International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights Commentary, Cases, and Materials
Trechsel: Human Rights in International Criminal Proceedings (ASIL Prize Winner)
Clapham: Human Rights Obligations of Non-State Actors *

Refugee Law

Goodwin-Gill & McAdam: The Refugee in International Law 3rd ed.

International and Transnational Criminal Law

Stahn et al: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court *
O’Keefe: The International Criminal Law*
Cassese: The Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court: A Commentary
Schabas: The International Criminal Court: A Commentary on the Rome Statute
Cassese et al: The Oxford Companion to International Criminal Justice 
Zappala et al: International Criminal Procedure : Principles and Rules
Ambos: Treatise on International Criminal Law: Volume 1: Foundations and General Part
Ambos: Treatise on International Criminal Law: Volume 2: The Crimes and Sentencing
Safferling: International Criminal Procedure
Gaeta: The UN Genocide Convention: A Commentary
McClean: Transnational Organized Crime: A Commentary
Boister: Introduction to Transnational Criminal Law
Salinas De Frias: Counter-Terrorism: International Law and Practice
Bassiouni: International Extradition – United States Law and Practice
Khan et al: Principles of Evidence in International Criminal Justice
Van Sliedregt: Individual Criminal Responsibility 2/e

International Courts and Tribunals

Zimmermann: The Statute of the International Court of Justice 2nd ed. (Commentary)
Thirlway: The Law and Procedure of the International Court of Justice Vols 1&2
Mackenzie et al: The Manual on International Courts and Tribunals 2nd ed. 
Romano, Shany & Alter: The Oxford Handbook of International Adjudication
Brown: A Common Law of International Adjudication (ASIL Prize Winner)
Webb: International Judicial Integration and Fragmentation
Aldrich: The Jurisprudence of the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal
Murphy, Kidane, and Snider: Litigating War – Mass Civil Injury and the Eritrea-Ethiopia Claims Commission
Chinkin: Third Parties in International Law
Holtzmann and Kristjansdottir:International Mass Claims Processes
Stahn et al: The Law and Practice of the International Criminal Court* 

Use of Force/Humanitarian Law

Clapham et al: The 1949 Geneva Conventions: A Commentary *
Weller et al: The Oxford Handbook of the Use of Force in International Law
Fleck: Handbook of International Humanitarian Law 3rd ed.
Clapham & Gaeta: The Oxford Handbook of International Law in Armed Conflict
UK Ministry of Defence: The Manual of the Law of Armed Conflict
Sivakumaran: Law of Non-International Armed Conflict (ESIL Prize Winner; Lieber Prize Winner)
Boothby: The Law of Targeting
Casey-Maslen: War Report 2012
Casey-Maslen:War Report 2013
Doswald-Beck: Human Rights in Times of Conflict and Terrorism
Benvenisti: International Law of Occupation 2nd ed. 
Wilmshurst: International Law and the Classification of Conflicts
Gill & Fleck: The Handbook of the International Law of Military Operations 2nd Ed *
Krutzsch, Myjer, and Trapp: The Chemical Weapons Convention (Commentary)
Gray: International Law and Use of Force 3rd ed.
Metzler: Targeted Killings in International Law
Casey-Maslen: Commentaries on Arms Control Treaties Volume 1 (2nd Edition) : The Convention on the Prohibition of the Use, Stockpiling, Production, and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Mines and on their Destruction*
Nystuen, Casey-Maslen et al: The Convention on Cluster Munitions (Commentary)

Law of the UN

Sievers and Daws: The Practice of the UN Security Council 4th Ed.*
Simma: The Charter of the United Nations 3rd ed. Vols 1&2 (Commentary) (ASIL Prize Winner)

Foreign Relations Law

Bradley: International Law in the US Legal System 2nd Ed. *
Mann: Foreign Affairs in English Courts

History of International Law

Fassbender: The Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law (ASIL Prize Winner)

International Economic Law

Herdegen: Principles of International Economic Law

Trade Law

Matsushita et al: The WTO Law, Practice, and Policy  3rd Ed. *
Daniel Bethlehem: The Oxford Handbook of International Trade Law
Mavroidis: Trade in Goods 2nd ed. (ASIL Prize Winner)
Correa: Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights
Mcmahon: The WTO Agreement on Agriculture
Vermulst: The WTO Anti-Dumping Agreement
Sykes: The WTO Agreement on Safeguards
Scott: The WTO Agreement on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Products

Investment Law

McLachlan: Shore: Weiniger: International Investment Arbitration: Substantive Principles
Dolzer: Schreuer: Principles of International Investment Law 2nd ed.
Muchlinski, Ortino, and Schreuer: The Oxford Handbook of International Investment Law
Brown: Commentaries on Selected Model Investment Treaties
Caron & Caplan: The UNCITRAL Arbitration Rules 2nd ed. (Commentary)
Salacuse: The Law of Investment Treaties 2nd ed. *
Muchlinski: Multinational Enterprises and the Law 2nd ed.
Salacuse: The Three Laws of International Investment : National, Contractual, and International Frameworks for Foreign Capital
Binder: International Investment Law for the 21St Century
Sabahi: Compensation and Restitution in Investor-State Arbitration

Environmental Law

Daniel Bodansky: The Oxford Handbook of International Environmental Law
Viñuales: The Rio Declaration on Environment and Development (Commentary)
Francioni: The 1972 World Heritage Convention (Commentary)
David Freestone: The Legal Aspects of Carbon Trading
Boisson De Chazournes: Freshwater and International Law
McCaffrey: The Law of International Watercourses 2nd ed.

Law of the Sea

Attard et al: The IMLI Manual on International Maritime Law Volume I: The Law of the Sea
O’Connell: The International Law of the Sea Vol I
O’Connell: The International Law of the Sea Vol II
Rothwell et al: The Oxford Handbook of the Law of the Sea
Klein: Maritime Security and the Law of the Sea

Air and Space Law

Cheng: Studies in International Space Law

Energy Law

Azaria: Treaties on Transit of Energy via Pipelines and Countermeasures

Law of Jurisdiction

Ryngaert: Jurisdiction in International Law 2/e

Financial Law

Martha: The Financial Obligation in International Law

Law of Co-operation

McClean: International Co-operation in Civil and Criminal Matters 3/e

Sources of International Law

Thirlway: The Sources of International Law