Guides and Resources: Computer Law: Finding a Topic for a Research Paper

Books about Scholarly and Academic Writing

Scholarly Writing for Law Students: Seminar Papers, Law Review Notes, and Law Review Competition Papers by Elizabeth Fajans, Mary R. Falk
Call Number: KF250 .F35 2017
5th ed.
Two copies available
Law Library Books - Second Floor
Academic Legal Writing: Law Review Articles, Student Notes, Seminar Papers, and Getting on Law Review by Eugene Volokh
Call Number: KF250 .V6 2016
Law Library 2nd Floor
Professor Volokh makes excerpts of the third edition of this book available at http://www2.law.ucla.edu/volokh/writing/aextract.pdf

Resources Generally

A.L.R. - browse the table of contents in some recent volumes. Available on the basement level of the Law Library before the U.S. Reports

Westlaw and/or LexisNexis: use these sources to browse the law review databases, or use the law review and journal indices available at the Law Library website.

Westlaw
Westlaw has a practice area devoted to maritime law, with subdirectories for case law, statutes and legislative history, administrative law, directories, and legal texts and periodicals. Consult a recent WESTLAW directory or use the online database finder to locate the materials you need.
LexisNexis
LEXIS includes the ADMRTY library, containing U.S. courts/awards, U.K. courts, U.K. legislation, agency orders, U.S. Code/CFR/Federal Register materials, boat registrations, trade journals, and some law reviews. LEXIS has an exclusive license to materials in American Maritime Cases (coverage back to1923). AMC citations can also be Shepardized on LEXIS.
Bloomberg BNA
Bloomberg's Internet Law Practice Center includes digital access to "Internet Law & Regulation" and a variety of other technology & law resources.

Sources and Techniques for Finding Potential Topic

Ask an expert - You've probably already had a conversation with Professor Cotropia. Also, if you know lawyers in law firms, goverment agencies, or public interest and advocacy organizations, those lawyers might be able to advise you.
Browse general legal news sources like the ones listed below.

United States Law Week
Legal news on all topics from all jurisdictions; available in the Law Library in print on the second floor at KF105 .U55.
Law360
Findlaw's Writ
Opinion pieces from regular columnists, most of whom are legal scholars.
Jurist Forum
Another source of opinion pieces from law professors.
Electronic Commerce and Law Reports
Another Bloomberg/BNA newsletter that covers legislative, judicial, news, and other developments.
Westlaw, LexisNexis, and Bloomberg Law
Include databases of recent news and developments that you can use to survey recent federal and state judicial, legislative, and administrative activities. Look for some of their topical highlights and/or current awareness newsletters. Navigate to WestlawNext's "Practical Law" section to find the "Intellectual Property & Technology" section.

National Law Journal
The National Law Journal, as part of Law.com, is a monthly newspaper published for those who work in the legal profession. Coverage highlights current legal events, case law trends, employment in legal areas, criminal investigations and new law office management techniques, as well as regular coverage of substantive topics like the Supreme Court Brief. The Journal also highlights the personalities behind the news -- the judges, lawyers and legislators whose experience and expertise may shape not only an individual case but also the national perception of the issue. Current issue available in print in the Law Library.

Virginia Lawyer's Weekly
Print legal newspapers which covers judicial, legislative, and administrative developments and regularly provide articles about substantive topics. Also available in print in the Law Library.

Browse general legal blogs

Justia Blawg Search
Use a general blogs search listings such as Justia Blawg Search for a relatively complete listing of legal blogs. Pick an area of law, or look at the "legal theory" or "law professor" categories.
Jurist's Paper Chase
Legal news from the U.S. and other countries
How Appealing
Broad coverage of new developments.
SCOTUSBlog
Supreme Court news with analysis of pending and decided cases.
Alltop-Top Law News
Recent posts from a variety of legal blogs.
Law Professors Blogs
Network of web logs ("blogs") designed from the ground-up to assist law professors in their scholarship and teaching. Might find a substantive area of the law that would be useful.
Split Circuits (Not updated after 9/20/13)
Good source to review issues where the various circuits split in their decisions.
2014 ABA Journal Blawg 100
For a listing of the "favorite" legal blogs of experts, see Sarah Mui & Lee Rawles, The Annual Blawg 100 2014, ABA J., Dec. 2014, at 35. Some blogs included are Law Technology Today, Patent Docs, iPhone J.D., Technology & Marketing Law Blog, Trademark & Copyright Law, and Technologist.
Duke Law - Legal Blogs
Links to many listings of legal blogs.
ABA Blawg Search
The ABA provides a list of blawgs searchable by topics like “Cybersecurity” or “Science & Technology law.”