Guides and Resources: Environmental Law: Major Treatises

General

To find more treatises and other sources try searching the catalog using "Browse Subject Headings" in the "within" field on the Basic Search screen. Some useful subject headings include:

Environmental Law
Environmental Protection

Environmental law by William H. Rodgers, Jr.
Call Number: KF3812 .R63 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Highly regarded, much cited treatise on environmental law. Updated through pocket parts and soft bound supplements.
Environmental law and policy by James Salzman, Barton H. Thompson, Jr.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2019
User friendly, concise overview of the topic of environmental law. Covers broad conceptual topics and briefly covers major statutes.
Environmental law and the values of nature by Richard J. Finkmoore
Call Number: KF3775 .F557 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This treatise has a strong emphasis on the history and evolution of environmental law.
Environmental law handbook by Government Institutes
Call Number: KF3775.Z9 E6
Publication Date: 2009
Written by a panel of experts in the field, this book gives an extensive overview of the area of environmental law.
Environmental protection : law and policy by Robert L. Glicksman ... [et al.]
Call Number: Law Library Reserve KF3775.A7 A52 2015
Publication Date: 2015
In depth discussion and analysis of the evolution and history of environmental law. Interdisciplinary approach that incorporates elements of science, economics and ethics.
Environmental regulation : law, science, and policy by Robert V. Percival ... [et al.]
Call Number: KF3775 .E548 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Taking a broad interpretation of "regulation", this book views environmental law through the lens of regulatory effects.
Environmental statutes outline : a guide to federal environmental laws by Michael J. O'Grady, editor
Call Number: KF3775.A59 E58 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Detailed information on each topically arranged statute makes looking up specific information easy. However, this resource is slightly dated so be such to update your research elsewhere.
NEPA deskbook by Nicholas C. Yost
Call Number: KF3775 .N47 2003
Publication Date: 2003
This book gives detailed, practice oriented information on the National Environmental Protection Act (NEPA).

Energy

Energy law in a nutshell by Joseph P. Tomain, Richard D. Cudahy
Call Number: Law Library Reserve KF2120 .T656 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Dual focus on energy law and on lawyering skills, specifically in researching administrative or regulatory law.

Subject Headings:

Power resources--Law and legislation
Energy conservation--Law and legislation
Energy industries--Law and legislation
Climatic changes
Energy policy--United States

The law of clean energy : efficiency and renewables by Michael B. Gerrard
Call Number: KF2120 .L39 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This is an an attempt to deal with the overlap of energy law and environmental law. There is a heavy focus on administrative law and on important provisions.
Energy Economics and the Environment : Cases and Materials by Fred Bosselman, Joel B. Eisen, Jim Rossi, David B. Spence, Jacqueline Weaver
Call Number: Law Library Reserves KF2120 .B67 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This casebook addresses the background of energy law and its relation to business and environmental law. The chapters cover different types of energy.
FERC : Federal Energy Regulatory Commission by James H. McGrew
Call Number: KF2120 .M34 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This book provides a practice oriented summary of FERC regulations. It is organized by energy source.
Global climate change and U.S. law by Michael B. Gerrard, editor
Call Number: KF3775 .G56 2014
Publication Date: 2014
This book attempts to synthesize statutes in the absence of a mandatory Federal program to give a summary of the law as it pertains to climate change.
Energy Policy Act of 2005 : summary and analysis of the act's major provisions by Kevin J. McIntyre, Martin V. Kirkwood, Jason F. Leif, general editors
Call Number: KF2120 .E543 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This book provides an in-depth analysis of the Energy Policy Act of 2005.

Water

The Clean Water Act handbook by Mark A. Ryan, editor
Call Number: KF3786 .C63 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Examines the changes in interpretation of the CWA over time specifically with regards to jurisdiction and oversight.

Try using the following subject headings to find more treatises on this topic:

United States. Federal Water Pollution Control Act
Water--Pollution
Water quality management

Pollution limits and polluters' efforts to comply : the role of government monitoring and enforcement by Dietrich H. Earnhart and Robert L. Glicksman
Call Number: KF3790 .E27 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Study on the effect of the CWA and the effectiveness of the regulations stemming from it.
Clean Water Act by Joel M. Gross, Lynn Dodge
Call Number: KF3790 .G76 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Practice oriented, concise, overview of the Clean Water Act.
Clean Water Act : current issues and guide to books by Claudia Copeland
Call Number: KF3790 .C67 2003
Publication Date: 2003
History of the Clean Water Act. Includes an appendix of books and government documents relating to the act.
The Clean Water Act TMDL program : law, policy, and implementation by Oliver A. Houck
Call Number: KF3790 .H68 2002
Publication Date: 2002
History of water legislation and implementation of total maximum daily load (tmdl).

Air

Air pollution control and climate change mitigation law by Arnold W. Reitze, Jr.
Call Number: KF3812 .R45 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Examines history of CAA enforcement and the implications for climate change mitigation.

Subject Headings

Air--Pollution
Air quality managment

Air pollution law by Reitze, Arnold W.
Call Number: KF3812 .R45 1995
Publication Date: 1995
A solid treatise on a broad range of issues in air pollution law written by an expert in the field. Kept up to date with pocket part supplements.

Toxic/Hazardous Substances

Subject Headings:

Toxic torts
Hazardous substances
Chemicals--Law and legislation

Toxic torts in a nutshell by Jean Macchiaroli Eggen
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2019
Provides a concise overview of toxic torts. Blend of public and private law. Addresses mass toxic torts and environmental tobacco smoke.
The law of hazardous wastes and toxic substances in a nutshell by John G. Sprankling, Gregory S. Weber
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018
Provides an overview of the Law of Hazardous Wastes and Toxic Substances. Emphasis on public law.
Toxic torts : science, law, and the possibility of justice by Carl F. Cranor
Call Number: KF1299.H39 C73 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Addresses the law regarding toxic substances from the vantage point of personal injury law.
TSCA : Toxic Substances Control Act by Lynn L. Bergeson
Call Number: KF3958 .B47 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Practice oriented overview of the Toxic Substances Control Act. Povides a basic understanding of TSCA, its implementing regulations, and the general principles underlying the federal system for managing TSCA-related products.

Wildlife

Wildlife law : a primer by Eric T. Freyfogle, Dale D. Goble
Call Number: KF5640 .F74 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Covers constitutional issues and statutes, liability issues, and game laws. Comprehensive and readable overview of the topic.

Subject Headings:

Wildlife Conservation
Wildlife Management
Endangered Species Act

Federal wildlife statutes : texts and contexts by Dale D. Goble, Eric T. Freyfogle
Call Number: Boatwright Circulating Books KF5640 .G43 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Designed to supplement casebook of the same title, but useful on its own or in conjunction with other resources. Provides full text of major federal statutes and relation of federal law to tribal law.

Natural Resources

The evolution of natural resources law and policy by Lawrence J. MacDonnell and Sarah F. Bates, editors
Call Number: KF5505 .E94 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Traces the history of natural resources law and projects possible futures for this complex area of law. Also addresses thematic issues such as public-private partnerships, protected areas, species protection, and mineral development.

Subject Headings:

Natural resources--Law and legislation
Public lands--United States

Public natural resources law by George Cameron Coggins and Robert L. Glicksman
Call Number: KF5505 .C64 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Modern public land law in a nutshell by Robert L. Glicksman, George Cameron Coggins
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2019
Concise overview of the laws concerning the public lands.
Natural resources law by Jan G. Laitos
Call Number: KF5505 .L35 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Includes discussion of every level of natural resource ownership from private to federal. Also covers the economic aspects of natural resource policy.