International Business Law and Transactions: Research Guides

This guide provides references to free and subscription services. The sections on international economic law, treaties, the United Nations, private international law, international organizations and international commercial arbitration are particularly relevant.

A comprehensive site on the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG), the uniform international sales law of countries that account for two-thirds of all world trade. The site includes a very good guide to researching CISG issues and international commercial law as well as an annotated text of the CISG which includes links to legislative history, scholarly writings and case law.

The site provides links to more than 4000 web sites related to international trade. Topics range from ‘Entering International Markets’ to “Codes, Standards and Conversions’. FITA also offers a bi-weekly email newsletter that discusses 4-5 sites included in the index.

A comprehensive guide to print and electronic materials on international commercial arbitration.

Based in Amsterdam, the IBFD is active in the field of tax research, information and education on a worldwide scale. This site includes an international taxation glossary, resources for tax research and publications about taxation throughout the world.

The site is a comprehensive index of web-based tax and accounting resources. The directory is designed to be a starting point for people who are searching for tax and accounting information, products, and services; it includes links to resources in 140 countries, IRS resources, OECD resources.

This regularly updated guide provides extensive links to web based resources for international trade research.

For each country, the work includes a brief overview of the legal system, general secondary sources, sources of major legislation, sources of court decisions, and a subject index for general legislation. The authors note sources of English and other translations for materials, if available.

Prepared by Lex Mundi law firm members, these guides for more than 40 countries include brief discussion of the factors which impact business transactions, including labor and immigration issues, business structures, import & export controls, etc.

Provides a database of laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources from member nations. The documents are contributed by the governments of the member nations. The database includes full texts of the documents in the official language of the country of origin; summaries or abstracts in English; and thesauri in English and in as many official languages as are represented in the database.

Provides links to primary foreign and international legal resources, research aids, and sites useful in conducting research in these areas of the law.

A section of the ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law, this site focuses on private international law, the body of conventions, model laws, legal guides, and other documents and instruments that regulate private relationships across national borders. It includes extensive links to primary international organizations and conventions.