It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Formerly the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library, this database provides online and downloadable access to 185 study aids from Aspen Publishing, including Examples and Explanations and Casenotes. Students can highlight, share, and take exportable notes as they use these resources to prepare for classes, papers, and exams.
Bloomberg Law is a legal research system, accessible by a login ID, that may be particularly relevant for patents and intellectual property, corporate and securities research, bankruptcy law, and retrieving court documents and filings from federal, state, and foreign jurisdictions. Bloomberg Law includes federal and state cases, similar to those in Westlaw and LexisNexis, along with news and current awareness and unique Law Reports for analysis and current awareness across 40 legal subjects.
Provides access to a comprehensive online law library with complete federal case coverage, plus state and appellate cases going back to 1950 (or earlier) for all fifty states. Also includes federal and state statutes, court rules, and administrative codes. Like Lexis and Westlaw, you can use Fastcase to retrieve cases by citation or by using Boolean or natural language searching. There is also an “Authority Check” feature, which shows if your case has been cited in later case decisions. See a Law School librarian for U.R.'s access code.
Electronic collection of many prominent legal journals and law reviews, including older, difficult to find, historical collections, and current issues, available in PDF format. Includes the Foreign & International Law Resources database, the historic Federal Register, Treaties & Agreements Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Papers Library, Law Library Journal, and more.
When studying flashcards with Spaced Repetition, you grade yourself on how well you knew the answer. Using this information, the algorithm schedules the next time for you to review. The effect is that users learn far more, in far less study time...and never have to cram again.
Comprehensive catalog of libraries from around the world. Catalog entries include information on books, films and slides, manuscripts, musical scores, digital media, and other formats. Useful for users who are searching for materials owned by other libraries.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Virginia Lawyers Weekly has been the commonwealth’s top source of legal information for practicing attorneys since 1986. The newspaper reports all decisions issued by the Supreme Court of Virginia, the Virginia Court of Appeals and the 4th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals. Also featured are hundreds of rulings from state Circuit Court judges, U.S. District Court judges, U.S. Bankruptcy Court judges, the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission and other state agencies. News coverage highlights developments in case law, changes to court rules, verdict & settlement reports, bar-discipline notices and all other news vital to Virginia lawyers. This also includes all archived newspaper stories and case digests since 1993, as well as, access to full-text PDF copies of featured opinions.
You will need to use the VPN to access this resource while off-campus.
vLex Justis, the successor to JustisOne, is a full-text, online legal library of United Kingdom, Irish, European Union and Caribbean case law and legislation, including dockets and exact replica PDFs. The UK content alone contains full-text cases dating back to 1163 and the full legislative history of the UK from 1235. vLex also offers access to geographically relevant publications like the International Law Reports, the Human Rights Collection and the Aspinall’s Maritime Cases, as well as, ABA and Wiley collections and CCH tax cases.
Access to Justis Parliament can be found via Justis.