Back to the Law
There are a number of Legal Periodicals dedicated to Public Policy.
Finding Legal Periodicals
Sometimes a more pointed search is necessary when looking for strictly legal materials. There are hundreds of legal periodicals that publish articles that argue for policy changes. Use the link below to search in HeinOnline's Law Journal Library.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (H.W. Wilson)"An excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, this database provides complete, full-text coverage of the most important English-language legal information, including access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, books, book reviews and more."
Select "Publication Title" from the drop-down and enter a basic search terms involving your area of regulation. For example a search for LABOR will locate journals that specifically print articles in that area.
Fifty-State Surveys
There are a variety of publications and services that collect the statutory laws of the fifty states to compare and contrast the legal solutions taken in different regions.
- BNA State Comparison Charts
This link opens in a new window
Under each Practice Center, there are various state comparison charts for statutes across the U.S. - Uniform Laws Annotated
This link opens in a new window
Fifteen volume analysis of all uniform laws. Use the state correlation tables pamphlet to make any distinctions between a state law and the uniform law.
Available in print at KF165 .A5. - Subject Compilation of State Laws: An Annotated Bibliography
This link opens in a new window
Frequency varies. First edition was 1979-1983; current edition covers 2009-2010. Covers print, online and web sources on dozens of topics. Available on Hein Online. - GODORT State Agency DatabasesThe ALA has prepared a series of links to state agency databases that allow you to search for information specific to administrative law and public information in each state.
