Guides and Resources: Comparative Labor & Employment Law: International & EU Resources

International Labour Organization

The International Labour Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations. The main aims of the ILO are to promote rights at work, encourage decent employment opportunities, enhance social protection and strengthen dialogue on work-related issues.

NORMLEX
Brings together information on International Labour Standards (such as ratification information, reporting requirements, comments of the ILO's supervisory bodies, etc.) as well as national labour and social security laws.
NATLEX
Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation.
Labordoc
Contains access to ILO documents and publications.
ILO Research Guide
Consult this guide for further information on researching the ILO and the documents it produces.

Other International Organizations

European Union

Responsibility for employment and social policy lies primarily with the national governments of members of the European Union. EU funding supports and complements their efforts.

EUR-Lex (EU Laws)
EUR-Lex provides free access, in the 24 official EU languages, to: the Official Journal of the European Union, EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, etc.), preparatory acts (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers, etc.), EU case-law (judgements, orders, etc.), international agreements, EFTA documents, other public documents. It also allows you to follow legislative procedures. The database is updated daily and contains more than 3 million items with some texts dating back to 1951.
N-Lex (National Law of EU Member States)
N-Lex offers databases on national legislation of EU member states. It offers a common search form enabling you to make searches in your own language. Search results come directly from national databases.
N-Lex offers descriptions of database contents and search options for each country (search fields and different types of national law).
Eurofond
The European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (Eurofound) is a tripartite European Union Agency, whose role is to provide knowledge in the area of social and work-related policies. Eurofound was established in 1975 by Council Regulation (EEC) No. 1365/75 to contribute to the planning and design of better living and working conditions in Europe.
European Economic and Social Committee
EurWork
Contains resources on working conditions and industrial relations, and is supported by a network of European correspondents across all EU Member States and Norway.