International Environmental Law Generally
The Art and Craft of International Environmental Law by
International environmental law is often closer to home than we know, affecting the food we eat, the products we buy, and even the air we breathe. Drawing on more than two decades of experience as a government negotiator, consultant, and academic, Daniel Bodansky brings a real-world perspective on the processes by which international environmental law develops, and influences the behavior of state and non-state actors. In self-contained chapters that offer a clear guide to a complex field, Bodansky answers fundamental questions about how international environmental law works. What role can law play in addressing global environmental challenges such as climate change, ozone depletion, and loss of biodiversity? How do environmental problems come onto the international agenda? What are the obstacles to international cooperation, and what can international environmental law do to address them? How do international rules develop? How are they put into practice and what makes them effective?
Call Number: K3585 .B63 2010ISBN: 9780674035430
A Guide to International Environmental Law by
Guide to International Environmental Law addresses why and how the international system elaborates environmental obligations and monitors compliance with them. The book discusses the relationship between international obligations and national and local law, with particular reference to federal systems. It points out the influence national law has on the emergence of international law and the growing role international norms play in the development and enforcement of national and local environmental policies. It also examines the extent to which environmental protection should be and is taken into account in other regulatory frameworks, from trade law and human rights to disarmament and refugee policy.
Call Number: K3585 .K5695 2007ISBN: 9781571053442
International courts and environmental protection by
Introduction
The patchwork of jurisdictions
Institutions of international environmental governance
International courts and environmental governance
Transboundary environmental damage
Freshwater resources and ecosystems
Marine wildlife and ecosystems
Public interest proceedings
Jurisdictional coordination
Fragmentation of international environmental law
The future of international environmental litigation.
Call Number: K3585 .S74 2009ISBN: 9780511576034
International Environmental Law : fairness, effectiveness, and world order by
This book analyzes the law and policy for the management of global common resources. As competing demands on the global commons are increasing, the protection of environment and the pursuit of growth give rise to all sorts of conflicts. It also analyzes issues in the protection of the global commons from a fairness, effectiveness and world order perspective. The author examines whether policymaking and trends point to a fair allocation of global common resources that is effective in protecting the environment and the pursuit of sustainable development. The author looks at the cost-effectiveness of international environmental law and applies theories of national environmental law to international environmental problems. Chapters include analysis on areas such as marine pollution, air pollution, fisheries management, transboundary water resources, biodiversity, hazardous and radioactive waste management, state responsibility and liability.
Call Number: K3585 .L68 2006ISBN: 0521868122
International Environmental Law : the practitioner's guide to the laws of the planet by
Until recently, international environmental law was largely the focus of diplomatic discussions, treaty negotiations, and academic debates of interest to a group of passionate and patient attorneys working for governments and international nongovernmental organizations. With clients becoming multinational in nature and faced with a rapidly emerging and confusing regime of international environmental laws, understanding international environmental law is becoming a core skillset for every environmental attorney. International Environmental Law helps attorneys understand the unique ramifications of these laws, regardless of where they practice and whom they represent. Written by attorneys with extensive experience in the area, International Environmental Law provides an analytical framework to help practitioners advise clients, whether from law firms, in house, or within government and nongovernmental organizations. The book s authors provide a logical template for considering the most pertinent issues in international environmental law, including air and climate change, water, chemicals and hazardous materials, site remediation, emergency response, natural resource management, environmental review, and civil and criminal enforcement. The book examines the legal regimes in twenty-six key markets, as well as offering an informed discussion on global and cross-border issues."
Call Number: K3585 .I5773 2014ISBN: 9781627227377
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell by Call Number: eBook and K3585.6 .G87 2017ISBN: 9781683280965
International Law and the Environment by
As conservation of the environment plays an increasingly important role within society, International Law and the Environment continues to be the essential read for students and practioners alike. International Law and the Environment, whilst remaining rooted within the substantive law, places legislation on the protection of the environment firmly at the core of its current context. Written by three of the foremost experts in this field, the authors employ sharp and thorough analysis of the laws, allowing them to share their extensive knowledge and experience with the reader. The authors provide a unique perspective on the implications of International regulation, promoting a wider understanding of the pertinent issues impacting upon the law.This edition features extended treatment of Genetically Modified Organisms and biotechnology as well as the implications of ethics and the environment. It also benefits from new material covering the role of the International Maritime Organisation and Non-Governmental Organisations, which continue to grow in their influence over legislative provisions. These revisions ensure that not only does International Law and the Environment remain at the forefront of developments but continues to provide the most complete coverage of the growing subject of environmental law.
Call Number: K3585.4 .B57 2009ISBN: 9780198764229
The Oxford Handbook of International Environmental Law by
The Oxford Handbook of International Environmental Law takes stock of the major developments in international environmental law, while exploring the field's core assumptions and concepts, basic analytical tools, and key challenges. It is intended to serve as an authoritative and indispensable overview of the field. Although the handbook focuses on international environmental law, it also examines the subject from a broader policy and theoretical perspective, drawing on insights from other disciplines such as political science, economics, and philosophy. It aims to strike a balance between practical preoccupations and critical or theoretical reflection. Each chapter examines an issue that is central to current scholarly debates or policy development. At the same time, The Handbook is structured as a whole to provide readers with both a 'bigger picture' of international environmental law and a more in-depth understanding of its preoccupations. This approach is particularly important at a time in the development of international environmental law when its fragmentation into increasingly specialized sub-fields obscures unifying themes and cross-cutting challenges. The Handbook consists of 47 chapters in seven parts. Part I sets the stage for the Handbook, identifying overarching issues. Part II offers readers a range of theoretical lenses through which to analyze both the problems facing international environmental law and the solutions it may offer. Part III reviews the treatment of basic issues areas. Part IV analyzes the process of normative development in international environmental law. Part V will assess key theoretical concepts. Part VI examines the roles of various actors and institutions. And Part VII analyzes issues of implementation and enforcement. The Oxford Handbooks Series is a major new initiative in academic publishing. Each volume offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates. Oxford Handbooks provide scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives upon a wide range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences.
Call Number: K3585 .O96 2007ISBN: 9780199269709
Subject Guide
IGO & NGO Websites
- Earth Justice http://earthjustice.org/
- Earth Trends – World Resources Institute http://earthtrends.wri.org/
- HG Global Legal Resources – Environmental http://www.hg.org/environ.html
- Asser Institute – Centre for International & European Law http://www.asser.nl/default.aspx?site_id=7
- CIEL (The Center for International and Environmental Law) http://www.ciel.org/index.html
- Center for International Earth Science Information Network – Earth Institute – Columbia University http://www.ciesin.org/
- Global Environment Facility http://www.thegef.org/gef/home
- Greenpeace International http://www.greenpeace.org/international/en/
- World Nature Organization http://www.worldnature.org/