International Arbitration : Databases

Covers case law from international courts and dispute settlement bodies (including the Permanent Court of Arbitration) , in addition to states and certain territorial entities that are not generally classified as states. Inclusion of cases from these entities is in recognition of the fact that judicial decisions of such entities can be of interest to international lawyers. Publication of judicial decisions from such territorial entities does not reflect an opinion as to whether these entities should or should not be classified as states.

A collaborative effort between the Institute of International Commercial Law and the Pace Law Library, containing bibliographic citations, cases, commentaries, monographs, and books on the CISG and related subjects.

The library does not subscribe to this database, but free accounts are available to individuals for searching the database, viewing limited full-text content and subscribing to the blog.

The Commission drafts and revises the various ICC rules for dispute resolution, including the ICC Rules of Arbitration, the ICC ADR Rules, the ICC Dispute Board Rules, and the ICC Rules for Expertise and produces reports and guidelines on legal, procedural and practical aspects of dispute resolution. In its research capacity, it proposes new policies in the interest of efficient and cost-effective dispute resolution and provides useful tools for the conduct of dispute resolution.

WESTLAW ICA-ALL (requires a password)
Cases, legislation, rules, model laws, guidelines, treaties, analytical commentaries, journals and law reviews.

Searchable investment treaty cases, information on treaties, information on arbitrators.

Websites, groups, blogs, Facebook pages, etc.

Includes primary sources, news, practice tools, and BNA manuals, portfolios, books and treatises.

This database is the online version of the print resource of the same name, which has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdictions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature. For references to national arbitration laws, check under the subject "Arbitration, Domestic and International (Civil)" for each country listing.

LEXIS includes the ADMRTY library, containing U.S. courts/awards, U.K. courts, U.K. legislation, agency orders, U.S. Code/CFR/Federal Register materials, boat registrations, trade journals, and some law reviews. LEXIS has an exclusive license to materials in American Maritime Cases (coverage back to1923). AMC citations can also be Shepardized on LEXIS.

Practical Law Company provides practical resources for attorneys. The section on International Arbitration includes access to an "International Arbitration Clauses Toolkit" that offers guidance on drafting arbitration clauses. University of Richmond students and faculty can sign up for free accounts.

Includes disputes between states, and between states and international organizations. Recent volumes are reprinting decisions dating from the late eighteenth century to the mid-twentieth century. (via HeinOnline)