Business Litigation

Also available in Westlaw

Available in LexisNexis

Two-volume set that takes the practitioner from contract formation to performance, as well as nonperformance issues. Special attention is given to electronic contracts (including "clickwrap" and "browsewrap" contracts), arbitration agreements, construction contracts, drafting contracts to protect business method processes, and standards for granting preliminary injunctive relief. Both the UCC and federal contract law receive extensive coverage. Numerous downloadable forms are provided on disc with comments on their use.

Includes practice notes and forms on common law torts, breach of duty of loyalty, conversion, tortious interference with contractual relations and economic advantage, breach of covenants not to compete, wrongful discharge, conspiracy to injure a business, misappropriation of trade secrets, actions under the Virginia Computer Crimes Act, and Virginia Consumer Protection Act claims.

An extensive manual that provides appropriate statutes and regulations, complemented by thorough discussions and analyses of any changing federal and Virginia state laws. Included are 195 electronic customizable forms, and explanations and planning strategies for the LLC business structure.

Also available in Lexis Advance.
Provides a comprehensive treatment of the laws governing corporations in Virginia. This resource explores in detail the state statutes and related case law on all aspects of the Act: everything you need to initiate, modify, or dissolve corporations, including formation, the authorization and issuance of shares, limitation of liability, shareholders meetings, and rules for corporate records and financial reports. Also includes over 60 forms, with electronic versions on CD-ROM.

Practice tips on using limited liability entities, including chapters on income tax issues and planning and drafting issues.
Library owns 1st-14th annual institutes.

Procedure and practice of civil litigation in Virginia state courts, proceeding generally from pretrial litigation devices to jurisdiction and parties, pleading, discovery, motions at trial, appeals and enforcement of final judgments.

Comprehensive, two-volume set provides in-depth coverage on a wide array of issues and topics relating to pleadings and practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Designed to provide fast, accurate answers to issues encountered in everyday civil practice, this publication encompasses everything from courts, jurisdiction and venue, to motions for judgment and defensive pleadings, to enforcement of judgments.

Includes articles from various authors discussing issues of trial advocacy and practice in the business context.
Library owns 1st-7th annual institutes.

15 v. : forms ; 26 cm. + 1 CD-ROM
Also available in Westlaw.
Provides guidance on all phases of the litigation, including investigation, pleadings, motions, discovery, trials, appeals, settlement, and enforcement of judgments. Emphasis on discovery rules and strategy including chapters on case evaluation, depositions, document requests, discovery of electronic information, interrogatories, and requests for admissions.

Also available in Bloomberg Law.
Filled with practical advice from experts in the field, each chapter includes a summary and overview of the law in one area, citing leading case law and treatise authority. Topics include breach of fiduciary duties, interference with contractual and economic relationship, employment torts, misrepresentation and fraud, civil RICO and remedies.

Provides an overview of business and corporate litigation topics that have emerged during the past year. Leading authorities in 25 specialized areas review and comment with detailed outlines and summaries of cases, legislation, trends, and developments in so many facets of business law, including antitrust, corporate, employment, and bankruptcy.

This book discusses timing, mechanics and economics of discovery actions, including production of documents, depositions, and interrogatories. This work also includes sample forms and a chapter on using the Freedom of Information Act and Privacy Act in discovery.

Model jury instructions for business torts litigation.