Guides and Resources: Islamic Law and Society: Texts and Treatises

Online Secondary Sources

Islam: Sunnis and Shiites (CRS)
This report includes a historical background of the Sunni-Shiite split and discusses the differences in religious beliefs and practices between and within each Islamic sect as well as their similarities. The report also relates Sunni and Shiite religious beliefs to discussions of terrorism and Iraq that may be of interest during the first session of the 110th Congress.
Islamic Law in Our Times
A blog maintained by Haider Ala Hamoudi, a professor of law at University of Pittsburgh School of Law.
Prolegomena to the Qur'an
Abu al-Qasim al-Musawi al-Khu'i ; translated with an introduction by Abudlaziz A. Sachedina.
[Bayān fī tafsīr al-Qurʼān. English]

Periodicals

Articles from legal periodicals can be obtained using Westlaw, Lexis, or HeinOnline. Likewise, non-legal periodicals can be accessed through online databases provided on the library’s website. LegalTrac and Index to Legal Periodicals and Books can be searched using the term “Islamic Law” while selecting “Middle East Studies” and/or “Religion” in JSTOR will produce results as well. The following is a list of journals that may be particularly useful in researching Islamic law.

Journal of Islamic Law and Culture
Also available in Westlaw and LexisNexis
UCLA Journal of Islamic and Near Eastern Law
Also available in Westlaw and LexisNexis
Berkeley Journal of Middle Eastern and Islamic Law
Also available in Westlaw and LexisNexis
Arab Law Quarterly
Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies
Journal of Islamic Studies
Islamic Law and Society
Yearbook of Islamic and Middle Eastern Law
Law Library Books - 2nd Floor
Call Number: K29 .E176
Library Owns: v.1 - v.15 (1994 - 2010)
Islamic Horizons
The Islamic Society of North America publishes this bimonthly journal. Full-text issues from November/December 2008 to date are available online in PDF. The site offers a search box, and results can be limited to keywords or exact phrases and specific categories, such as articles, sections, and news feed.
The American Muslim (TAM)
The site has links links to topics arranged by subject, a list of recommended books on Islam, news items, and full-text articles from other sources. Very recent articles are also listed by title and arranged by date on the right side of the page. A search box is provided for additional access to site content.
Muslim Observer
This weekly newspaper covers a wide array of local, national, and international news on Muslims and Islam. The most recent issue is available full-text online, and clicking on "Archives" takes users to a site map that provides links to back issues from November 2004 to date; to content arranged by subject; and to specific newspaper sections such as op-ed and editorials.
Time Topics: Muslim-American News
This authoritative site provides free access to more than 350 full-text New York Times articles about Muslim Americans from 2000 to date. A search box at the bottom of the screen allows readers to use keywords to find articles on specific subjects. Photographs are included.

Research Guides

Secondary Print Sources (All titles located on the second floor unless otherwise noted.)

Between God and the Sultan: A History of Islamic Law by Knut Vikør
Call Number: KBP144 .V55 2005
Crime and Punishment in Islamic Law: Theory and Practice From the Sixteenth to the Twenty-First Century by Rudolph Peters
Call Number: KBP3791 .P48 2005
Custom in Islamic Law and Theory: The Development of the Concepts of ʻurf and ʻādah in the Islamic Legal Tradition by Ayman Shabana
Call Number: KBP455 .S52 2010
Dispensing Justice in Islam: Qadis and Their Judgments by Muhammad Khalid Masud et al., ed.
Call Number: KBP1610 .D57 2006
International Human Rights and Islamic Law by Mashood A. Baderin
Call Number: KBP2460 .B33 2003
An Introduction to Islamic Law by Wael B. Hallaq
Call Number: KBP144 .H356 2009
Islamic Jurisprudence According to the Four Sunni Schools. Volume 1, Modes of Islamic worship by ʻAbd al-Raḥmān al-Jazīrī ; translated from the Arabic by Nancy Roberts
Call Number: KBP283 .J39 A33 2009
Islamic Law by Gavin N. Picken, ed.
Call Number: KBP144 .I829 2011
Islamic Law: From Historical Foundations to Contemporary Practice by Mawil Izzi Dien
Call Number: KBP144 .D54 2004
Islamic law and international human rights law [electronic resource] by Anver M. Emon, Mark Ellis, Benjamin Glahn
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Islamic Law and Jurisprudence by Nicholas Heer, ed.
Call Number: KBP15 .I853 1990
Islamic Law and Society: An Introduction by Jamila Hussain
Call Number: KBP144 .H87 1999
The Islamic Law of Personal Status by Jamal Nasir
Call Number: KBP524.7 .N37 2009
Law, Custom, and Statute in the Muslim World: Studies in Honor of Aharon Layish by Ron Shaham
Call Number: KBP50 .L39 2007
Law and the Sacred by Austin Sarat et al., ed.
Call Number: K3280 .L395 2007
Boatwright Circulating Books - Basement Levels
The Origins and Evolution of Islamic Law by Wael B. Hallaq
Call Number: KBP55 .H35 2005
Principles of Islamic Jurisprudence by Mohammad Hashim Kamali
Call Number: KBP144 .K36 2003
The Qurʾānic Term Kalāla: Studies in Arabic Language and Poetry, Hadīt̲, Tafsīr, and Fiqh; Notes on the Origins of Islamic Law by Agostinos Cilardo
Call Number: KBP632 .C55 2005
Studies in Islamic Legal Theory by Bernard G. Weiss, ed.
Call Number: KBP190.5.H5 S78 2002

Islam in America

The "Bin Laden" Effect: How American Public Opinion About Muslim Americans Shifted in the Wake of Osama Bin Laden's Death
Osama Bin Laden's death occurred after the project's first three weeks, which allowed the researchers to compare responses recorded before and after he was killed. They discovered that this event very negatively affected public opinion due to massive media coverage it received. An executive summary, other significant findings, and an explanation of the methodology are included.
The American Mosque 2011: Basic Characteristics of the American Mosque, Attitudes of Mosque Leaders
This report covers findings from 524 telephone interviews of select mosque leaders. It also includes a range of statistics on such topics as the locations of mosques, kinds of facilities, and the ethnicity and gender of regular attendees.
Anti-Terror Lessons of Muslim Americans
This study includes an executive summary, recommendations, statistics on "terrorism offenders," several charts, and bibliographic references.
Being Muslim in America
The Bureau of International Information Programs, U.S. Department of State, published this 60-page document in 2009 to describe American Islam culture and life and help dispel existing American stereotypes of Muslim Americans.
Muslim Americans: Faith, Freedom, and the Future
The Gallup Center for Muslim Studies and the Abu Dhabi Gallup Center issued this 132 page report, in August 2011. This poll measured tolerance, religious practices, and civic interactions, comparing results to other major religious groups in the United States.
Muslim Americans: No Signs of Growth in Alienation or Support for Extremism
This August 2011 Pew Research Center publication reports on a survey of more than 1,000 Muslim Americans completed last year. Sections cover topics such as demographics, religious practices, challenges, and concerns about terrorism and international relations. This 137-page works includes numerous charts and graphs, and a thorough explanation of the methodology used.