Skip to main content
Banner Home Page Link
Richmond Law Homepage

Admiralty and Maritime Law Bibliography

This guide is intended as a starting point for research in admiralty and maritime law at the University of Richmond Law Library. It includes both primary and secondary materials, in both print and electronic formats.

Print and Electronic Sources

AUTHOR/EDITOR: Blom, Hans W. (editor)
TITLE: Property, piracy and punishment : Hugo Grotius on war and booty in De iure praedae : concepts and contexts
PUBLISHER: Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2009
CALL NUMBER: KZ6600 .P76 2009

 

AUTHOR/EDITOR: Petrie, Donald A.
TITLE: The prize game : lawful looting on the high seas in the days of fighting sail
PUBLISHER: Annapolis, Md.: Naval Institute Press, 1999
CALL NUMBER: KZ6610 .P48 1999


AUTHOR/EDITOR: Bourguignon, Henry J.
TITLE: The first Federal court : the Federal appellate prize court of the American Revolution, 1775-1787
PUBLISHER: Philadelphia: American Philosophical Society, 1977
SERIES: Memoirs of the American Philosophical Society; v. 122
CALL NUMBER: KF8757 .B68 1977


AUTHOR/EDITOR: Robinton, Madeline Russell
TITLE: An introduction to the papers of the New York prize court, 1861-1865
PUBLISHER: New York: Columbia University Press, 1945
SERIES: Studies in history, economics and public law, ed. by the Faculty of political science of Columbia University. No. 515
NOTES: Issued also as thesis (Ph. D.) Columbia University.
CALL NUMBER: KZ6660.U6 R62 1945


AUTHOR/EDITOR: Colombos, Constantine John
TITLE: A treatise on the law of prize
PUBLISHER: London: Sweet & Maxwell, limited, 1926
SERIES: The Grotius Society publications; no. 5
NOTES: Introductory chapter by A. Pearce Higgins.
CALL NUMBER: K7460.P7 C718 1926

 

AUTHOR/EDITOR: Roscoe, Edward Stanley
TITLE: A history of the English prize court
PUBLISHER: London: Lloyd's, 1924
CALL NUMBER: Special Collections KZ6640 .R6 1924
URL:http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/MOML?vrsn=1.0&dd=0&locID=vicu_rich&b1=0X&srchtp=b&d1=20003726000&SU=ALL&c=1&ste=11&d4=0.33&stp=DateAscend&dc=flc&n=10&docNum=F152204506&b0=A+history+of+the+English+prize+court+&tiPG=1



AUTHOR/EDITOR: United States. Supreme Court.
TITLE:  Prize cases decided in the United States Supreme Court, 1789-1918, including also cases on the instance side in which questions of prize law were involved
PUBLISHER: Oxford: The Clarendon Press, 1923
SERIES: Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
CALL NUMBER: KZ6595 .U6 1923
URL: http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=beal/pcdsc&collection=beal


AUTHOR/EDITOR: Gregory, Charles Noble
TITLE:  Abstracts of cases contained in Lloyd's reports of prize cases : volume 1, 2, 3, and 4
PUBLISHER: Washington, D.C.: Govt. print. off., 1919
CALL NUMBER: JZ1405 .H47 1919 


AUTHOR/EDITOR: Hurst, Cecil James Barrington, Sir (editor)
TITLE:  Russian and Japanese prize cases
PUBLISHER: Buffalo, N.Y.: W.S. Hein, 1972
SERIES: Int’l military law & history reprint series; 6-7
NOTES: Reprint of the 1912 and 1913 edition published by His Majesty's Stationery Off.
CALL NUMBER: KZ6595 .R8 1972


AUTHOR/EDITOR: Holland, Thomas Erskine, Sir
TITLE: A manual of naval prize law, founded upon the manual prepared in 1866 by Godfrey Lushington
PUBLISHER: London: H. M. Stationery off., Darling and son, ltd. [printers], 1888
NOTES: Issued by authority of the lords commissioners of the Admiralty.
CALL NUMBER: KZ6610 .H64 1888
URL:http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/MOML?dd=0&af=RN&locID=vicu_rich&srchtp=a&c=1&ste=11&d4=0.33&stp=Author&dc=flc&docNum=F106275947&ae=F106275947&tiPG=1&an=19007984200



AUTHOR/EDITOR: Smith, E. Delafield
TITLE: The Peterhoff : argument of E. Delafield Smith, United States district attorney, addressed to the United States court at New York, in the case of the prize steamer Peterhoff, July 10, 1863
PUBLISHER: New York: J.W. Amerman, printer, 1863
CALL NUMBER: Special Collections E600 .S6 1863

AUTHOR/EDITOR: Madison, James
TITLE: An examination of the British doctrine which subjects to capture a neutral trade not open in time of peace [electronic resource]
PUBLISHER: Buffalo, NY: William S. Hein & Co., 2010
NOTE: Originally published: America printed; London : Reprinted for J. Johnson and W. J. & J. Richardson [by Ellerton & Byworth], 1806
URL:http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Page?handle=hein.congrec/bdcn0001&id=1&size=2&collection=congrec&index=congrec#1   

 

AUTHOR/EDITOR: Christopher Robinson
TITLE: Collectanea maritima: being a collection of public instrument, & c. & c. tending to illustrate the history and practice of prize law
PUBLISHER: Clark, N.J.: Lawbook Exchange, Ltd., 2006
NOTES: Originally published: London: Printed by W. Wilson for J. White, and for J. Butterworth, 1801.
CALL NUMBER: KZ6610 .R63 2006

 

AUTHOR/EDITOR: Grotius, Hugo
TITLE:  De iure praedae commentarius = commentary on the law of prize and booty
PUBLISHER: Buffalo, N.Y. : Hein, 1995.
SERIES: Classics of international law ; no. 22.
NOTES: Previously published: Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1950.
NOTES: From the 1604 manuscript.
CALL NUMBER: KZ2093 .A3 D4 1995

Libguide Window Footer Facebook Link Twitter Link