International Business Law and Transactions: Country Resources - South Africa

Includes descriptions of the governmental and legal structure of South Africa; sources of law including the constitution, legislation, court decisions and international law; research resources; and secondary sources. Provides links to numerous governmental and other sources of free online legal materials.

Prepared by a law firm that is a member of the Lex Mundi global law firm network, this guide covers:

- Investment principles and general legal and economic considerations
- Black economic empowerment
- Trade and investment regulations
- Business entities
- Taxation
- Employment
- Intellectual property
- Information technology
- Broadcasting and electronic communications
- Property
- Mining, oil, and gas
- Shipping
- Environmental law
- Constitutional law
- Immigration
- Dispute resolution
- Living in South Africa

Available on Bloomberg Law at bloomberglaw.com
Select Secondary Sources > Browse BNA Portfolios > Check Foreign Income Portfolios > Enter South Africa > Portfolio 7350-1st, Business Operations in South Africa should be the first result

- South Africa — the country, its people and economy
- Operating a business in South Africa
- Forms of doing business in South Africa
- Principal taxes
- Taxation of domestic corporations
- Taxation of foreign corporations
- Taxation of a branch
- Taxation of partnerships
- Taxation of other business entities
- Taxation of individuals — residents
- Taxation of nonresident aliens
- Estate/inheritance/transfer and gift tax
- Intercompany pricing
- Special provisions relating to multinational corporations
- Avoidance of double taxation

Law Library Books - 2nd Floor
Chapter 44 of this work covers the primary legal and socioeconomic issues involved in investing in or doing business in South Africa, and discusses:

- The business environment, the company-law regime, and state-owned enterprises.
- The government's emphasis on socioeconomic transformation in the country's business environment.
- The regulatory environment.
- Dispute resolution mechanisms.

Law Library Books - Basement
A guide for lawyers to doing business in South Africa. It covers: establishing joint ventures in South Africa; establishing distribution businesses; securities law and portfolio investment; taxation; privatization; trade regulation; environmental law; and resolving commercial disputes. Although dated (it was published in 1996), this work may serve as a basic introduction to legal issues involved in conducting business in South Africa.

Select South Africa from the QuickLinks menu.

Provides detailed political, economic, investment, social, and environmental overviews.

Includes a brief overview on doing business in South Africa, FAQs for companies desiring to do business there, and other export and foreign business-related resources.

Includes descriptions of the South African government, its structure, and the entities that comprise it.

Includes South African case law and legislation, as well as law journals.